Umar Nasko clinches PDP governorship ticket in Niger


Alhjai Umar Mohammed Nasko has been declared winner of the gubernatorial primary election of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Niger State.

He defeated former Nigerian Envoy to South Africa, Alhaji Ahmed Ibeto and four others to emerged winner. Others who contested the primary with him are Hannafi Sudan, Umar Ahmed and Aminu Baka.

The Chairman congress committee, Dr. Baraka Sani said Umar Nasko pulled a total of 1,972 votes to emerge the winner.

The former Chief of Staff to ex Governor Muazu Babaginda beat Ibeto who got 516 to second position.

According to the result, Hannafi Sudan 157, Aminu Baka 110 and Umar Ahmed 24 votes.

A total of 2,809 Party delegates from the 25 local government areas of the state participated in the primary, which was supervised by the Resident Electoral Commissioner in the state, Prof. Sam Egwu.

Share this post

scroll to top